Skip to content

Back in the Day- 6-8-22

Ten years ago
June 13, 2012 
The first Marilyn Davidson High Heel Dash was held in Tuscola. The event helped raise money for the Tuscola school district in honor of the late Marilyn Davidson, who served on the school board for several years.

Relay For Life in Douglas County had a great turnout. The event raised just under $49,000 with various activities throughout the evening. 

Various summer camps were held throughout Tuscola. These included the British Challenger soccer camp, girls basketball, boys basketball, and football. 

The 12U Tuscola Force team took first place in Charleston’s Aummer Slammer Tournament. This year’s team included Isabelle Shelmadine, Logan Frerichs, Abbey Walsh, Alexis Koester, Natalie Bates, Morgan Day, Machenzie Stewart, Morgan Stewart, Libby Alt, Bree Trimble, Jessie Spivey, and Gemini Pettry.

The 2012 Warrior baseball award winners were Tristan Williams – Most Improved, Dillon Hoel – MVP and Highest Batting Average, and Philip Meyer – Warrior Spirit. 

Twenty years ago 
June 11, 2002
Approximately 80 motorcycles and 125 participants took part in the First Annual Chris Helm Memorial Ride. The ride was held in memory of Camargo Fire Protection District Chief Chris Helm, who passed away earlier this year.

Douglas County was among 68 Illinois counties eligible to recieve federal aid in connection with recent storms, tornados, and flooding that swept through the state April 21 and May 23. Preliminary figures by Douglas County ESDA showed more than $200,000 in cleanup costs to the county, not including damage and loss to private residences and businesses.

Receiving unanimous selection to the LOVC All-Conference First Team were Eric Schweighart, Cory Kleiss and Elliot Harriss. Darren Lewis was also selected for his work on the mound. Duffy Cleland and Andy Pollock were selected on the Second Team. 

Andrea Laley, Jessica Laley, Marissa McCumber and Ashley Hall were named to the Little Okaw Valley Conference First Team in softball. Amanda Hance, Jessica Kleiss, and Holly Nichols received Honorable Mention recognition.  

Thirty years ago
June 9, 1992
East Prairie was losing a familiar face, as unit secretary Helen Sanderson was retiring after more than 31 years with the district. 

Phyllis Williams, manager of Southgate Manor, received recognition from the Farmers Home Administration for excellence in management. The award was presented at the annual conference of the Rural Rental Housing Association of Illinois. 

Tuscola High School Class of 1992 graduated 54 exercises. Shelby Best, Gina O’Brien and Jenny Stuerke were class valedictorians. 

Among the individual award winners at the recent TCHS spring sports banquet were Kendra Blaudow, Emily Smith and Kim VonLanken for the girls; and Jason Wienke, Aaron Hastings and Kevin Todd for the boys. 

Forty years ago
June 15, 1982
Zeigler Coal Company announced the layoff of 111 employees, effective July 14, at the No. 5 mine located near Murdock.

Tina Cleland, Christine Lohr, Jane O’Bryan and Mary Williams were Tuscola residents who made the Dean’s List at Eastern Illinois University. 

Organizers of the 1982 Old-Fashioned Days feared that this would be the last year for the event due to a lack of funds. 

Sandy Chen opened her Hillcrest home on Monday and Tuesday to youngsters ages 2 to 14, teaching them the techniques of dance.

Fifty years ago
June 8, 1972
Linda Metheny would be making her third consecutive trip to the Olympic Games this August, scheduled to take place in Munich, Germany. In 1968, Metheny became the first American woman ever to reach the finals in any event. 

Police were called to the Tuscola Journal office when a man refused to leave the office as he was not impressed with Phil White’s literary expertise and wanted to remain until he convinced Mr. White to change his style of reporting. 

A record 2,000 people attended graduation ceremonies at Tuscola High School, although seating problems delayed the exercise and the PA system went out. Barely audible speeches were given by Rick McGuire, Barbara Kellogg, and Pat O’Bryan. 

TCHS science instructor Anita Brown and PE instructor Gene Murray were named as American Secondary Education Leaders for 1972.

Leave a Comment