Skip to content

One contested race in Douglas County primary

This year’s primary election will be held on June 28, 2022. The shift in date was an effort by state lawmakers to accommodate delayed 2020 Census data. Typically given to states in March each year following the Census, the data was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic and not scheduled to be released until mid-August at the earliest.

In the race, there is only one contested ballot in the Douglas County primary election. Ed Carlton is challenging incumbent James Mikeworth for the District 6 Douglas County Board seat. Both contestants are Republicans. 

You can register to vote online until June 12. In-person voters can register at the Douglas County Courthouse until (and on) election day. Early in-person voting begins on May 19 at the Douglas County Courthouse. Voting will be held from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Douglas County precincts. Mail-in ballots must be received by June 23. 

There is no candidate running for the District 5 County Board seat. The seat is currently held by Don Munson of Arcola, who also serves as the Board chairman. Munson is not seeking re-election. All other seats are being sought by incumbents. County Board candidates include Richard Helm in District 1, Bibby Appleby in District 2, Tom Hettinger in District 3, Phil Morris in District 4, and Gary Luth in District 7. 

Judi Pollock is seeking re-election as county clerk and recorder. Bobbi Rairden is also seeking re-election as treasurer. Douglas County Sheriff Nathan Chaplin is additionally seeking re-election in the primary. 

A referendum by Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond school district is also on the ballot. The referendum is seeking $30,600,000 to pay for heating, ventilation, and air conditioning upgrades. 

There are also 34 precinct committeeman seats in the county – half to be filled by Republicans and half by Democrats. Only nine of those positions have had applicants for the seats. For the Republican Party, there are Martha Yeakel of Bourbon 2, Chuck Ellington of Camargo 1, Scott Harris for Garrett, Neal Wood of Newman, John Watson for Tuscola 1, and Danny Cleland for Tuscola 4. For the Democratic Party, there are Jerry Stout of Arcola, Rocky Warner of Garrett, and Russell Anderson for Tuscola 1.

Leave a Comment