Skip to content

Back in the Day 2-17-21

Ten years ago 
February 23, 2011
The main event during Tuscola’s FFA Week was a cook-off between the FCCLA and FFA teams. The FFCLA crew consisted of advisor Karen Scheweighart, Kayce Patton, Bailey Smith, and Chelsea Mills and came out just a mere two points ahead of FFA’s squad of advisor Callie Parr, Elise Hackett, John Edgar, and Taylor Kauffman. The teams served celebrity judges Colleen Lehmann, Tim Mooney, and Robert Reese.

Grease was the word — and the show — for TCHS’ spring musical. 

Katie Haake, daughter of Cindi and Chip Haake, was named the TCHS February Rotary Student of the month. 

Senior pep band members Vincent MaGee, Mackenzie Quinn, Stephanie Swaney, Lydia Swinford, Anthony Morrison, and Chase Kauffman were honored during the Feb. 15 senior night game.

Warriorette seniors Alex Brown, Becky Hemmer, Lexi Wasiloski, and Chloe Kerns completed their final home routine on Feb. 15 during senior night. 

Senior boys basketball players and cheerleaders were honored at a senior night dinner held Feb. 17 at Ironhorse Clubhouse. Cheerleaders praised included Hannah Leese, Lydia Swinford, and Katie Haake. Basketball players celebrated included Dakota Gilpin, Chase Little, Pat Yoakum, Christopher Ransom, Cody Shelmadine, and Brett Clifton. 

Twenty years ago
February 20, 2001
Parking spaces downtown were at a premium last Tuesday morning, as hundreds flocked to the Community Building for a handful of openings at Tuscola’s Equistar plant.

Shovels would be meeting earth as soil was overturned on the site of a new elementary school. Supt. Jim Voyles said a brief ground-breaking ceremony would be held Feb. 28, marking “the beginning of a new educational era of Tuscola.”

TCHS SAR-DAR winners for the 2000-2001 school year were seniors Matthew McCumber, son of Doug and Rhonda McCumber; and Katie Arseneau, daughter of Dave and Joyce Arseneau. 

The Tuscola Warriors became the undisputed champions of the Little Okaw Valley Conference Tuesday night when they defeated the Cerro Gordo Broncos 75-61 at Tuscola. It was the 19th consecutive victory for the Warriors and moved the team into a fourth-place tie for most wins in a season (24). 

Thirty years ago
February 19, 1991
The Rev. Joseph G. Ring was appointed as pastor of Forty Martyrs Parish in Tuscola. The Jacksonville native came to his assignment from the Church of the Little Flower in Springfield, where he served as parochial vicar. 

Illinois State Police trooper Mark Whitley, who started his career with the Tuscola Police Department, was promoted to the rank of master sergeant during ceremonies held recently in Springfield.

TCHS students who were 1991 Scholastic Art Award winners included Tiffany Dick, Liz Spomer, Josie Kramer, Jacqueline Hall, Doug Cottle, and Jeremy Ross. 

With the conference title in hand, the Tuscola Warriors traveled to Bemement Feb. 15 to close out the regular season. Tim Smith and Mike Taylor scored career highs of 30 and 15 respectively to boost Tuscola to its eighth consecutive win, this one 67-50 over the Bulldogs, and undefeated record in the conference. 

Forty years ago
February 24, 1981
Fred Moody of Tuscola would be assuming the proprietorship and management of Wayne’s Pharmacy, effective March 1, 1981, according to a joint announcement made by Moody and current owner Wayne Carmichael. 

Illinois Secretary of State Jim Edgar was to be the featured speaker at the Douglas County Republican spring meeting held March 14 at the Tuscola Community Building.

Miss Tuscola Tracy Maxey would be competing for the Miss Crossroads 1981 title on April 4 in Effingham. She was first-runner up in the Miss Moultrie-Douglas pageant and placed in the top 15 in the Miss Illinois National Teenager contest held in Decatur. 

After closing out regular season play with a 63-51 defeat at Mahomet-Seymour’s newly built gymnasium, Coach Gene Murray was preparing for the upcoming regional tournament. The Warriors, picked preseason as the worst team in the conference, proved everyone wrong by finishing fourth among the eight teams in the league.

Fifty years ago
February 18, 1971
Jean Waters, a senior at Tuscola High School, was crowned FHA Sweetheart queen at the FHA Sweetheart dance held Saturday night. She received her crown from last year’s queen, Jane Phillips. Another royal transference was Mrs. Julie Passon, named Beta Sigma Phi Queen at the annual Heart Fund dance. Crowning her was last year’s queen, Mrs. Carol Hausmann. 

After serving 12 years as the Scoutmaster, Amos Albritton was turning over the reigns of the leadership for Troop 95 to Roger Lolley. 

There were 12 candidates vying for city alderman positions, including William Alvis, Dr. Robert Burns, and Stephen Modgis in Ward 1; Ray Carlson, Davis Schenkel, Dean Miller, and Ed Kleiss in Ward 2; Jane Lovecamp in Ward 3; and Gordon Goodpasture, Wayne Seip, Kelly Williams, and Ray Beals in Ward 4.

Coach Bill Burress pointed to a team effort in the Tuscola Warriors’ 79-71 win over host Bement, cementing the team’s undisputed lead of the Okaw Conference. The box score bore that out with 18 points from Dave Snyder, 17 from Larry Ring, 16 from Doug Dietrich, 15 courtesy of Dennis Chaplin, and 11 off Jim Stonecipher.

Leave a Comment