Skip to content

Back in the Day 11-4-20

Ten years ago
November 10, 2010
Lane Bryant was the newest addition to the Tanger Outlet Center. 

The Tuscola United Methodist Men held their 50th Chili for Chaddock Fundraiser. 

New Tuscola Kiwanis Club officers were installed for the 2010-2011 year. These included Kevin Nolan, Candy Hudson, Jaci Manzella, Alan Shoemaker, Mike Damler, and Wayne Ward.

Warrior volleyball fall awards winners included Kara Williams (Most Improved), Oliva Morris (Best Defensive Player), Lindsay Troike (Best Offensive Player/Second Team All-Conference), and Samantha Kohlbecker (MVP/Honorable Mention All-Conference).

Warrior cheerleading fall award winners included Allison Hemmer (Spirit Award), Hannah Leese (Leadership Award), Anna Martinez (Spirit Award), and Natasha Martin (Most Improved).

The Tuscola Warriors football team advanced to the playoff quarterfinals after a 54-36 win over Central A&M.

Warrior cross country fall award winners included Lisa Ponder (Most Outstanding/First Team All-Conference), Erin Weaver (Black & Gold Award), Alex Kemp (Black & Gold Award), and John Evans (Weaver Memorial Award). 

Twenty years ago
November 7, 2000
Tuscola fire chief Steve Hettinger was back on the job after an Oct. 16 fire department training accident that damaged his right hand and wrist. 

There were 23 new names entered into the TCHS National Honors Society rolls, following an induction ceremony held recently. Those included Ashley Hall, Andrew Kling, Jenna Weinke, Amber Hector, Aja Kohlbecker, Jessica Waldrop, Christin Brown, Tony Reinhart, Allison Pearse, Cory Kleiss, Brad Wetzel, Jessica Surma, Evan Simpson, Jessica Pohlig, Jennifer Erixon, Katrina Kappes, Lauren Ochs, Andrew Crawford, Eric Schweighart, Angie Otto, Neil Ochs, Erica Ochs, and John Winans. 

Tracy Baird of Morton and Ryan Hornaday of Decatur announced their engagement and approaching marriage. The Tuscola natives were planning a June 2001 wedding at the First Christian Church in Tuscola. 

Matthew McCumber, son of Doug and Rhonda McCumber, was named the Tuscola Rotary Club Student of the Month for October. 

The Tuscola Warriors eliminated Sesser-Valier from the IHSA playoffs with a 39-14 win over the visiting Red Devils. Tuscola would next have to face the Unity Rockets to continue its quest for a Thanksgiving weekend appearance at Memorial Stadium. 

Thirty years ago
November 6, 1990
Almost 73 percent of the registered voters in Douglas County went to the polls Tuesday to choose their political leaders. In the sheriff’s race, incumbent Democrat Chuck Talbott defeated Republican challenger Gordon Cleland, Republican Jim Ingram staved off Democratic challenger Doug Rardin for the county clerk’s seat, and GOP candidate Rick Hackler bested Democrat Tony Fidler for treasurer. 

Phil Lamb Chevrolet was the victim of thieves sometime between Nov. 1 and 2, when 40 new tires and aluminum wheels were stolen from 10 vehicles on the lot. 

Regina O’Brien, a junior at Tuscola High School, was selected to attend the 1990 National Young Leaders Confederate this month in Washington, D.C. 

Lady Warriors Elizabeth Spomer and Missy Erixon were named the the LOVC First Team All-Conference volleyball squads, Spomer as a unanimous selection. TCHS juniors Shelby Best and Kendra Blaudow made Second Team All-Conference. 

Forty years ago 
November 11, 1980
Amos Albritton, area supervisor for CILCO, was retiring after 35 years. He would be replaced by Charles Kolhbecker, who currently held the position of gas distribution and supervisor. 

Tuscola city attorney Kurt Froehlich told council members that the federal district court in Springfield dismissed a suit charging civil rights violation in the city’s denial of a request by Shirley Oil Co. of a sign to be constructed at the Dixie Trucker’s Stop.

Six Tuscola Warrior football players were selected to the All-Okaw Conference Team. They included Andy Gangloff, Rick Mooday, Greg Porter, Mark O’Bryan, John Murray, and Steve Kalmar. 

Fifty years ago 
November 12, 1970 
The name of N. H. Wakefield was submitted by Mayor Frank Marler as his choice for superintendent of city services. 

Rev. and Mrs. Kenneth McConkey were honored at a silver wedding anniversary reception held recently at the home of Mr. and Mrs. N. D. Kellogg. Guests included members of their Methodist church congregation, friends, and neighbors.

Newly elected Jayette officers in Tuscola included Valerie Hoel as president, Carol Linday as vice president, Donna Vukelich as secretary, and Joyce Simanek as treasurer. 

The Tuscola Warriors closed out membership in the Okaw Valley Conference just as they started in 1926, by being champions. A share of the present conference title was assured Friday night with a 54-0 win over arch rival Arcola. Craig Romine paced the Warriors with 47 tackle points on four solos and nine assists.

Leave a Comment