Skip to content

Around the Halls

By Caleigh Parsley
FCCLA Section 7 Officers met for the first time on Tuesday, April 30 at the Mattoon Army National Guard for team building and leadership training. They then went to lunch to decide positions and plan the rest of the year. The FCCLA Section 7 Officers includes: Caleigh Parsley (Tuscola) and Madi Jones (Heritage), Co-Presidents; Bree Buck (Heritage), Vice President; Kacie Roberts (Heritage), Secretary; Emma Walters (Arcola), Treasurer; Josie Carroll (Shiloh), Vice President of Public Relations; Jersey Rodriguez (Arcola), Vice President of Community Service; and Alexis McDaniels (Chrisman), Vice President of Foundations. Stay tuned for Section 7’s other exciting events to come!

An extremely busy week for the Tuscola FFA Chapter began on Tuesday, April 30, where FFA members: Hans Goodmann, Parker Norman, and Jimmy Rexroad-Campbell competed in the Ag Mechanics CDE. That same night, the 2019-2020 Tuscola FFA Chapter President Morgan Jones was elected the new Section 17 President! Congratulations, Morgan! Also, congratulations to the Tuscola FFA Advisor, Mr. Chris Kerns, who is now Section 17’s advisor! Then, on Thursday, May 2, FFA members: Julia Kerkhoff, Marisa Poole, Hannah Lemay, Coulson Poffenberger, Olivia Fulk, Blake Cruzan, Hans Goodmann, Daisy Mast, Brooke Ray, and Morgan Jones helped at National Day of Prayer. Finally, on Friday, May 3, the annual Tuscola FFA Barnyard was held from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m. in the Tuscola High School Ag Shop. There were goats, pigs, chickens, ducks, farm dogs, kittens, cattle, and a rabbit, as well as a couple games, tractors, and a semi. The Northward and East Prairie students were given cotton candy as they were leaving. Thank you to all those who made this successful, sunny day possible!

Key Club had their final meeting for this school year on Wednesday, May 1, where President Sabrina Alcorn thanked all those who attended the Kiwanis Easter Egg Hunt and brought stuffed animals to donate to the Carle pediatric unit. Kelsey Slaughter presented the top service hour earners for fourth quarter to Emma Zimmer, Justine Kauffman, and Caleigh Parsley; and for second semester to Emma Zimmer, Justine Kauffman, Morgan Jones, Kelsey Slaughter, and Caleigh Parsley. Stay tuned for the last events of the year to come! Kiwanis held their Recycling Day Saturday, May 4 at Ervin Park from 9 a.m. until all three trailers were full at 11 a.m. Thank you to all who helped and brought your electronics!

Also on Wednesday, May 1, TCHS SADD, with the help of leadership team member – Whitney Root, had Illinois State Trooper Tracy Lillard come speak to the Tuscola high school students about traffic safety. Trooper Tracy also connected with the students on many different levels and had students help her illustrate her points. Many students stayed after the assembly to thank her, ask questions, and simply just talk. Thank you so much to Trooper Tracy for coming to speak. To Tuscola, she is now known as one of the best speakers!

Tuscola NHS also had their last meeting of the 2018-2019 school year on Thursday, May 2 with pizza provided. The new leadership team for the 2019-2020 school year is Lauren Farley, Bryona Lee, Courtney Kramer, and Carli Stone. Noblesse Oblige – the inferred responsibility of privileged people to act with generosity and nobility toward those less privileged.

JD Barrett, Mason Holmes, Caleb Haste, Logan Wallace, Caroline Rominger, Whitney Root, Kelsey Slaughter, Sabrina Alcorn, Emma Zimmer, Kali Pierce, Ruchi Patel, Meadow Picazo, and Justine Kauffman attended Student Council State in Lombard from Thursday, May 2 until Saturday, May 4. They attended leadership workshops and had a nice formal dinner. Emma Zimmer received the Pillar Award for being an outstanding Student Council member. The Pillar Award is for members who really stand out and put a lot of time and dedication into student council, like Emma has. Finally, the students had a blast at the dance to end the conference.

Leave a Comment