Skip to content

Around the Halls

By Caleigh Parsley
Tuesday, April 2, FFA members: Hannah Lemay, Morgan Jones, Coulson Poffenberger, Jimmy Rexroad-Campbell, and Parker Norman competed at Envirothon in Hoopeston.

Key Club had their monthly meeting on Wednesday, April 3 where Kelsey Slaughter announced the third quarter highest service earners: Emma Zimmer, Caleigh Parsley, and Morgan Jones. Stay tuned for upcoming events!

Also on Wednesday, April 3, Tuscola FFA Chapter held their annual banquet in the high school gym. After a delicious dinner by Niemerg’s in Effingham, FFA State Reporter, Shaylee Clinton gave a keynote address. Following her inspiring words, the past officers (Cameron Ochs, Morgan Jones, Marisa Poole, Brooke Ray, Coulson Poffenberger, Madison Green, Caleigh Parsley, Hannah Lemay, and Olivia Fulk) began the awards ceremony. First, Caleigh recognized the many alumni members for all their support, naming Dennis Opperman and Cindy Little the Honorary Members. Next, Brooke our “FFA Member of the Month”: August: Olivia Fulk; September: Hans Goodmann; October: Blake Cruzan; November: Shelbi Fleener; December: Daisy Mast; January: Darcee Norman; February: Parker Norman; March: Douglas Ruggles. After this, Hannah listed the several students who attended various leadership trainings, competed in Career Development Events, and served our community. Then, the Greenhand degrees were awarded to Kayli Heckler, Olivia Fulk, Darcee Norman, Connor Lewis, Patrick Pierce, A.J. Laubscher, Douglas Ruggles, Shelbi Fleener, Blake Cruzan, Ashlyn Donnals, Allison Gordon, Charlize Wilson, Colton Gunther, Jaeson Reinhart, Spencer Thaxton, Lanie Burchett, Jessie Martin, and Austin Lewis. Parker Norman, Hans Goodmann, Aiden Beachy, Jimmy Rexroad-Campbell, Gabriella Gunther, Chloe Lee, Daisy Mast, Katelyn Hutson, Ava Cothron, Hannah Anderson, Julia Kerkhoff, and Sophia James were then awarded their Chapter degrees. Receiving their State FFA Degree in June are Morgan Jones, Machenzie Stewart, and Ethan Stumeier. The Star Greenhand was Olivia Fulk; the outstanding sophomores were Parker Norman and Hans Goodmann; the outstanding juniors were Morgan Jones and Coulson Poffenberger; the outstanding senior was Cameron Ochs. Morgan Jones won the 2019 DeKalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award. To conclude, they thanked their numerous silent auction donors and inducted the new 2019-2020 Chapter Officers: President – Morgan Jones; Vice President – Coulson Poffenberger; Secterary – Brooke Ray; Treasurer – Hans Goodmann; Reporters – Caleigh Parsley and Hannah Lemay; Sentinel – Olivia Fulk; Historian – Daisy Mast; and Business/Farm Manager – Blake Cruzan.

The full story can be found in the Wednesday, April 10 edition of The Tuscola Journal.

Leave a Comment