Skip to content

Back in the Day – Nov. 28, 2018

Dec. 2, 2008

Douglas County officials who were sworn in during installation ceremony included Board Member Charles Edmundson, Board Member Bibby Appleby, Circuit Clerk Julie Mills, State’s Attorney Kevin Nolan, Board Member Chuck Knox, and Coroner Joe Victor.

The Woman’s Club Homes for the Holidays house tour included the homes of:  Andy and Joyce Brzozkiewicz, Mike and Linda Morris, Ted Leithliter, and John and Diane Lindblom.

A group of concerned citizens and community organizations banded together to seek permission from the owner of the former Dixie property to do a general clean up.

The Tuscola boys’ basketball team included Kyle Miller, Cody Shelmadine, Cody Schum, Auste Shelmadine, Brent Harris, Pat Yoakum, Dylan Cox, Justin Hood, Christian Lehmann, Brett Clifton, Josh Scribner, Calvin Kerns, and Tyler Clark.

City Workers Jeff Smith and Stephen Bosch festooned downtown lampposts with holiday finery in preparation of the Christmastown celebration.

Dec. 1, 1998

The Tuscola Rotary Club named TCHS Senior Carrie Bergeson, daughter of Randy and Maureen Bergeson, the November Student of the Month.

The Tuscola Chamber of Commerce gave six community members special recognition for outstanding community service during the annual community Thanksgiving luncheon. The award winners included: Paula Donnals, Cathy Foster, Catherine Kellogg, Darin Sluder, Gary Neal, and Joe Victor.

Travelers heading home on Interstate 57 after the Thanksgiving holiday encountered major delays following a single vehicle accident south of the Pesotum exit. A tractor-trailer driver lost control of his rig when he was reaching for a drink of water. He veered off the road, struck the guardrail, and drove 289 feet down the side of the bridge before striking the bridge and coming to a stop over the ICF railroad.

Nov. 29, 1988

The class of 1934 met for is 55th class reunion. Those present for the occasion included: Wanda Allen, Betty Carmack, Eileen Turner, Pee Wee Cunningham, Ruth Little, Ruth Wiesener, Ted Carmack, Boyd Wiesener, Jack Cook, Willis Jolley, Erma Burnett, Wayne Burnett, Carl Woolverton, Ralph Allen, Pete Cunningham, and Maurice Little.

Shelly Armstrong, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Louis Armstrong, Tuscola, was named Eastern Illinois University’s Employee of the Month.

The four winners of the Tuscola National Bank scholarship were Denise Herrman, Villa Grove; Lorianne Bauer, Tuscola; Greg Carter, Tuscola; and Mike Smith, Newman.

Dr. Sally Foote, D.V.M. was given the go-ahead by the City Council to open an animal hospital in downtown Tuscola. The council granted a conditional use permit to Foote, who took over Dr. R. R. Smith’s veterinary practice on South Washington Street. Dr. Foote moved the office to 140 W. Sale, which was formerly occupied by Dr. Walter Steiner’s medical practice.

Nov. 30, 1978

The City of Tuscola filed a lawsuit against Douglas County for some $15,000. The suit claimed that fines collected fro city traffic violations rightfully belonged to the city.

Leo Dick, John Chapman, Vern Stewart, and Andy Ring started the annual Christmas season task of attaching Christmas street ornaments to city light poles. All the work was done by volunteers.

Members of the eighth grade boys’ basketball team were John Brookins, Eric Adams, John Murray, Bill Fruit, John Kleiss, Dan Meyer, Mark Smith, Larry Binion, Mark Farris Tom Peach, Duff Hoel, Tim Campbell, Scott Von Lankon, Neil Borries, Lee Grimm, Brian Dobson, Deke Walker, David Porter, James Clarkson, and Brian Harris.

USI Industrial Chemicals Company hosted a special 25th Service Anniversary Dinner and the annual service awards dinner. Employees and honorees were honored at the two dinners. The 1978 dinner marked the 25th year from USI Tuscola’s original plant start up, and 116 employees celebrated their 25th work anniversary alongside the facility.

Nov. 28, 1968

D.A.R. and S.A.R. award winners to represent TCHS for the 1968-1969 school year were Joyce Ann Ochs, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Donald Ochs, and Steve George Leonard, son of Mr. and Mrs. George Leonard.

Architects and general contractors indicated that most of the work on the new East Prairie Elementary School would be completed by mid-December, but they could not guarantee the building would be ready for use by Jan. 1.

Winner of the Punt, Pass, Kick competition sponsored by Ferguson Motor Sales were Jeff Ochs, Craig Hastings, Kevin Burke, Keith Burke, John Kalmar, Randy Todd, Rick Izquierdo, and Kenny Schweighart.

Leave a Comment