Skip to content

No contested races at local level for Nov. 6 election

Unlike the high-profile gubernatorial race and various statewide and regional races, Tuscola township voters heading to the poll Tuesday, Nov. 6 will see familiar faces but no contested races at the local level.

On the county level, seven seats are up for reelection; however, each race is uncontested.

As city officials, incumbents County Clerk Judi Pollock and County Treasurer Bobbi Utterback Murray have put their names in to continue their public service.

Utterback Murray, of Tuscola, has been the Douglas County Treasurer & Collector since being appointed on Aug. 15, 1997. She was elected in 1998 and each four years since, according to the county website.

Pollock, of Newman, accepted her appointment as County Clerk & Recorder in 2013. She began her career with Douglas County in 2007 as Accounts Payable Deputy in the County Clerk & Recorder’s Office, according to the county website.

The third county official on the ballot is the relatively new face to county politics Douglas County Sheriff candidate Joshua Blackwell. Blackwell, of Arcola,

took a significant win over current Sheriff Fred Galey during the March 20 primary election on the Republican ticket.

Blackwell, a current Douglas County sheriff’s deputy, took 54 percent or 1,710 votes in March, Galey took 26 percent or 815 votes. Blackwell won 16 of the 17 precincts and tied Galey in the final precinct.

In his primary election campaign, Blackwell noted that his strengths for taking on the role include his variety of experiences working at the sheriff’s office and his current employment and knowledge of the office and its employees. He said school safety and building the countywide emergency response plan are among his top priorities heading into office.

He will be unopposed for the sheriff’s seat in the general election.

Within the county board four seats are up for reelection and the four incumbents are anxious to continue their work and service to the county.

Board chairman Don Munson (District 5) of Arcola along with board members Thomas Hettinger (Distirct 3) of Tuscola, Bibby Appleby (District 2) Atwood, and Jim Mikeworth (District 6) of Villa Grove are on the ballot this cycle.

Tuscola voters should head to the Tuscola Community Building, at 122 W. North Central Ave.

Leave a Comment