Skip to content

Back in the Day–April 11, 2018

April 15, 2008

TCHS Student Council co-presidents Zach Laley and Laura Frye presented Larry and Debbie Hettinger with a $500 check to put toward their daughter’s sixth annual memorial walk. The Erin Hettinger Lindelof Memorial Walk raises funds for the National Cystic Fibrosis Foundation to put toward research and to benefit patients with cystic fibrosis and their families.

Ron O’Hearn accepted a new position working with all three schools as director of student services. O’Hearn was previously a third-grade teacher at North Ward Elementary School.

Seventh and eighth grade Hornets track teams hosted a four-team meet with Arcola, Villa Grove, and Tolono. Both Tuscola seventh and eighth grade teams had first place finishes in the meet.

Lady Warriors track and field team had wins during a six-team meet. Jazman Bailey won pole vault. The 4×800 relay team also won their meet. Competing on the relay team were Jessica Troike, Lindsay Troike, Laura Knight, and Liz Anderson.

TCHS Warrior baseball team won 2 out of 3 games, putting their record at 9-4. Victories were against Tri County and Unity, with a one-run loss against Argenta. It was their first loss in conference play.

April 14, 1998

The Douglas County area was hit with severe weather. Three confirmed tornado touchdowns destroyed three houses and 21 outbuildings. Another 12 homes and 22 outbuildings were damaged.

Tuscola Girl Scouts had a troop project cleaning up the downtown area. Helping with the clean up were Rebecca Endres, Rachel Long, Chelsea Dallas, Annie Knight, Kate Bosch, Kayleigh Zyskowski, Casey Penny, Katie Frye, and Kaci Ogden with help from Eric Ogden and Tyler Zyskowski. Supervising the project were Marlene Zyskowski, and troop leaders Mary Ogden and Kathy Frye.

The 1998 Freshman/Sophmore Warrior Track and Field team were introduced. Team members were Mark Quinn, Ken Cunningham, Nick Flenniken, Steve Pangburn, Jared Vandeventer, David Dyke, Mike Kroll, Ken Hogue, Jason Krocher, Beau Wilson, and Asif Azhar.

Lady Warriors Track and Field team members were Stacey Anderson, Becky Wetzel, Kelly McDonald, Erica Hall, Rachel Cronk, Marci Lietz, Kacie O’Brien, Annie Holste, Chrissy Mattlin, Tasha Carter, Cara Chaplin, Lindsey Snider, Amy Cruzan, Erica Ochs, Crystal Downs, Rachel Robertson, Rebecca Stephenson, Jenny Gensler, Stephanie Reinhart, Janeen Sutherland, Lindsey Binder, and Katy Ochs.

April 12, 1988

New directors were inducted to the Chamber of Commerce. Inductees were Vicki Harriss, Jill Hall, Joe Aiello, Kent McGillen, and Steve Wetzel. Bruce Wood was the incoming president succeeding Jim Kleiss.

The Lion’s Club Fun Day’s return was approved by the city council. A carnival was to be the highlight of the event.

Matthew Schweighart was the winner of IGA’s coloring contest. He received a set of Crayola Crayons.

The Warrior baseball team’s record was 2-3 after being defeated by Dunlap and by Bement in a double header. They began the season at 2-0 with wins against Unity and Newman.

The TCHS boys’ track team placed third in a meet among 16 teams. Carlinville took first place and Pana placed second. Brian Hatlfield set a new school record with a jump of 6-5 in a meet at Monticello.

April 13, 1978

Donald Chappell, Robert L. Reeder, and Robert D. Travis were elected to the Tuscola Community Unit 301 board of education. Superintendent Jack Williams served as acting chairman until the election.

Linda Hillard was crowned 1978 Miss Tuscola in the annual pageant. Cindy Cleland was first runner up, and Chris Hance was second runner up in the competition.

Randolph (Randy) L. Frank was chosen to be the new Qualicare Administrator at Jarman Memorial Hospital. Mr. Frank was formerly the assistant administrator at St. Mary’s Hospital in Milwaukee.

Bill McCarty was named Tuscolian of the Year at the annual Tuscola Chamber of Commerce banquet. He was presented a plaque by Miss Jean Waters, the most recent Tuscolian.

The 1978 Tuscola third and fourth grade boys’ Biddy Basketball All-Stars were Jeff Thompson, Jimmy Brookins, Fritz Cross, Curt VonLanken, Jeff Cleland, Matt McCarty, Bill Bailey, Frank Kalmar, and Steve VonLanken. The boys were coached by Glen Rogers and Bill McCarty.

April 11, 1968

Wheel and Dealers squared dance club honored graduating class members Mr. & Mrs. Jack Ehrsham, Mr. & Mrs. Rex Spear, and Mr. & Mrs. William Patterson.

John C. Morris retired from the Tuscola Post office April 30, 1968. He had been an employee since July 1930.

Cynthia Thode was selected as the representative by the American Legion to go to Girl’s State in Jacksonville. Janet Strohl was selected as alternate. Both girls were on the TCHS high honor roll.

The Tuscola Woman’s Club awarded scholarships for EIU’s Music Camp. Rick Welborn and David Brown were the recipients.

The Youth Center received its first donation. $100 was donated from the Okaw Valley Motorcycle Club.

Charles P. Pond and Assistant Jim Curiz from the U of I physical education department visited and instructed approximately 30 of Peg Pettitt’s gymnastic and dance students. Pond believed there to be Olympic potential amongst the students.

Leave a Comment