Skip to content

Back in the Day–March 28, 2018

April 1, 2008

Miss Tuscola 2007, Kayla Shelmadine, handed her crown over to the new 2008 pageant winner, Michelle Ogden. Kayce Patton was crowned Junior Miss, and Julia Kerkoff was crowned Little Miss.

Lady Warriors and JV softball teams were starting their season with one win and one loss. Warrior boys had won 2 out 3 of their baseball games. Logan Tabeling enjoyed being batboy for his dad, Ryan, TCHS varsity baseball coach.

Police were investigating three burglaries. One was at Sav-Mor Pharmacy, and it seemed to be an isolated incident. The other two, Kelsey Furniture’s warehouse and 40 Martyrs Catholic Church, were believed to be connected.

Members of the Tuscola chapter of Road Riders for Jesus explained their mission was to become more well known and participate in the community and help people in need in any way they could. Other chapters held poker runs, social activities, benefits, fed the homeless, visited churches, and joined festivals. Members of the Tuscola chapter included Allen Miller, Tanya Miller, Jean Kauffman, Willard Kauffman, Kevin Wigall, Jan Wigall, Kelly Whittington, Rich Whittington, Joe Carter, Angie Carter, Tim Hoel, Sherrie Hoel, Aaron Sawyer, and Cindy Sawyer.

March 31, 1998

Dan Russell received the Technology Educator of the Year Award presented by the Regional Office of Education and Senator Judy Meyers.

TCHS Cheerleaders received grant money from Sam’s Club/Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Cheerleaders were Erica Hall, Rachel Cronk, Amanda Cline, Rachel Kleiss, Lindsay Snider, Jenny Gensler, Stephanie Reinhart, Lindsay Binder, and Jessica Brian. They were sponsored by Cindy Ring.

The 1997-98 Junior Pompon squad was represented by Michelle Murphy, Krista Conner, Kaci Ogden, Kathy Pangborn, Courtney Smith, Cece Borries, Emily Corum, Brandi Evans, Paige Gabbard, Katie Marx, Jennifer Meyer, Kandee Neff, Kristin Rhodes, Amber Anderson, Kara Batts, Audrey Beeson, Whitney Bradford, Chelsey Chenoweth, Dusty Hawkins, Chelsey Kelley, Whitney McGillan, Lauren Meyer, Jamie Moore, Mary Riley, Elizabeth Scribner, Suzanna Winans, April Maulding, Marlaina Dyke, Spencer Hall, Kate Meyer, Megan Simpson, Amber VonLanken, Christen Brown, Krysta Conner, Tara Gianneschi, Kayleigh Zyskowski, Jana Davis, Katie Parker, and Lindsay Royse. The squad was coached by Katrina Hanners.

March 29, 1988

1987 Miss Tuscola, Susanna Ross, was preparing to turn her crown over as contestants prepared for the pageant. 1988 Miss Tuscola contestants were Brandy McGee, Heather Gaddey, Lisa Schultz, Ticia Travis, Julie Clark, Elizabeth Lincoln, Quanett Wells, Tina Turner, Kim Sievers, Teri Kyle, Missy Kelly, and Dawn Coon.

During the Tuscola Winter Sports Banquet, players were honored for their combined win/loss record of 86-22. Other individual awards were also presented. In cheerleading, Missy Chappell was awarded most improved, and Julie Kohlbecker received the most valuable award. Lady Warriors awards presented were Summer Holmes, most improved; Tisha Little, most defensive player of the year; Janet Roper, the dedication award; and Susan Harris, MVP. In boys’ basketball, Marke Hatfield and Matt Washburn were co-awarded MVP; Brian Hatfield, free throw award; Steve Weemer, rebound award; and Mark Kalmar, most improved.

March 30, 1978

An ice storm caused loss of power to 11,000 residents in the Tuscola district. The ice storm was the worst on record for that area as of that time. The storm moved in on Good Friday and lasted through Saturday. Power lines were not the only thing affected. TV antennas were down, as well as thousands of tree limbs that covered almost every yard.

1977 Miss Tuscola, Ginger Allen, was ending her reign as the pageant drew near. Janet Kalmar, Anna Meyer, Chris Hance, Cathy Ring, Linda Hillard, Cindy Cleland, Patty Pankau, Amy Smith, Janet Pflum, Dee Anna Coon, Pam Harting, and Beth Beranek were preparing to compete for the title.

Four Warrior basketball players received trophies. Gary Campbell received most assists and recoveries; Mark Oakley, most free throws and most improved; Glen Mick, defensive player of the year; and Arnold Dean, most rebounds and MVP.

March 28, 1968
Tuscola was selected for an 800-mile IC Microwave Tower. The tower would help link Chicago to Jackson, Miss. and provide improved communication and data transmission on the Illinois Central Railroad.

James R. Crozier and Richard L. Dunlavy were given promotions at USI Plant. Crozier became assistant production manager, and Dunlavy moved to Crozier’s previous position as area superintendent in the polyethylene production unit.

Roger Lindgren was promoted at Cabot to production superintendent. Roger worked under R.O. Wolcott and had served as plant chemical engineer for 2 1/2 years prior to his promotion.

Warriors Freshman/Sophomore basketball team brought home the Championship in the Little Okaw Tournament. Players for the team were Rick Welborn, John Cornwell, Tim Harriss, Fred Hausman, Gary Maier, Phillip Rome, Randy Owen, Dennis Ochs, Dennis Chaplin, and Jon Surma. The boys were coached by Bob Trimble.

Warriors’ Freshman team took second place in the Unity 12 Team Tournament. Players were Gary Fultz, Richard Cox, Jim Spencer, Mark Owen, Jim Cox, Jon Surma, Bruce Rahn, Randy Eaton, Dennis Chaplin, Larry Ring, Mark Kleiss, and Dennis Ryan. The Freshman team was coached by Gene Murray.

Leave a Comment