Skip to content

Back in the Day–March 21, 2018

March 25, 2008

Tuscola Stone Quarry employees were awarded for their safety practices. They had zero accidents in 2007. Employees awarded were Jay Carter, Jennifer Thomas, Mary Dilliner, Pam McDowell, Beth Floyd, Tim Byrd, Jason Patterson, Alan Shoemaker, Rodney Hatten, Robert Miller, David Duke, Kris Bratten, Dean VanCleave, Bruce Carter, and manager Dan Foltyniewicz.

Tuscola Rotary Club’s annual auction brought $10,000 to go toward funding scholarship programs, youth activities, charitable organizations, and other causes.

North Ward third graders enjoyed having an Easter egg fashion show with plastic eggs decorated to a theme. Winners of the contest were: Third place, Jerry Miller and Kara O’Hearn; Second place, Madalyn Wallace and Kelsey Gobert; First place, Logan Hale.

Third through sixth grade students who participated in Biddy Basketball created a “thank you” display for Greg and Donna Campbell. Their efforts made Biddy Basketball a successful and fun learning experience for the students.

March 24, 1998

The American Legion Auxiliary selected Amanda Griffith as the representative for the 1998 Illini Girls State. Darcy Voyles was chosen as her alternate in case Griffith could not fulfill her responsibility. The girls were chosen by Auxiliary members based on their academics and interest in politics and government.

The Environmental Protection Agency issued a warning to the city as a result of non-yard waste materials being dumped in and around the yard waste collection site. People from Tuscola and surrounding communities were using the site as a dumping area for furniture, building materials, and various other items. The issue was a result of lack of monitoring and control at the site. If the dumping had continued, the city would have been forced to shut the site down completely.

Patti Waters of the Tuscola Community Foundation presented Barb Utterback with a donation for BETHS Place, a shelter for victims of domestic abuse.

March 22, 1988

Marvin Jones retired from the position of chairman of the Douglas County Republican Central Committee. He commented, “It’s time to move on, I’ve served my time.” However, he still pledged his support to his successor.

Nine TCHS students were inducted into the National Honor Society. Mark Kalmar, Heather Gaddy, Marianna Albin, Tag Adkisson, Matt Washburn, Jennifer Moorhead, Geoff Miller, Elizabeth Lincoln, and Teri Kyle were inducted. Students who were already members were Mike Middleton, Julie Kohlbecker, Laura Berg, Susan Harris, Amy Griffith, Laura Kimball, Janet Roper, Sherie Winans, Colleen Swihart, Susanna Ross, and Margie Nauta.

WDZ, a former Tuscola Radio Station, honored Curtis Marsh. He was the announcer for the station for many years, where he worked with many personalities of which some became nationally known. 1988 was the station’s 67th anniversary, and they officially recorded the day as Curtis Marsh Day.

March 23, 1978

The Littlefuse, Inc. plant in Tuscola was at capacity and was expected to expand. Tracor, owner of Littlefuse, had plants located in Watseka, Centralia, Tuscola, and Piedras Negras, Mexico, along with a parent plant in Des Plaines.

There were five candidates that filed for election to the Tuscola School Board. Running for re-election were Robert Reeder and Delbert Grimm. New candidates were Robert D. Travis, Teresa J. Johnson, and Donald R. Chappell.

Three ladies were honored by the Tuscola Lion’s Club for their assistance with service to club activities in the community. Lloyd Ashwill presented pins to Nancy Lansky, Barb Utterback, and Willa Dorsey.

March 21, 1968

The 1968 Miss Tuscola candidates were Kit Koehnemann, Jeannine Hall, Donetta Goodpasture, Connie Schrodt, Barbara Bailey, and Cheryl Carnine. The pageant was judged by Jan Jones, Don Truman, and Tom Trent. William Rogers was master of ceremonies, and June Foley was chairman of the pageant.

The TCHS band directed by William Kisinger received the only superior rating, girls’ chorus received a superior rating, and mixed chorus an excellent rating in the Class B Area IV school’s music competition. Both choruses were directed by Karen Vandall.

1967-68 Warrior varsity cage squad members were given special recognition at their annual awards banquet. Mark Seip received the MVP award; Bill Cook, free throw champ; Steve Leonard, most improved; Mike Waters, captain-elect; and Kevin Ryan, sportsmanship award. The squad was coached by Bill Burress.

Leave a Comment