Skip to content

Back in the Day–Feb. 21, 2018

Feb. 26, 2008

Warriors boys’ basketball defeated Chrisman 63-61 in the regional championship. The Warriors who claimed the victory were Tyler Clark, Clayton Meyer, Zack Martin, Dylan Cox, Auste Shelmadine, Cody Schum, Blake Bassett, Travis Surma, Christian Lehmann, Dane Winn, John Wienke, Brendan Leisner, Justin Hood, Shane Albert, and Brent Harris. Coaches for the Warriors were Paul Lehmann, Jerry Williams, Brad Hornaday, and David Hess. Managers were Aaron Grussing and Blake Woodard.

Tuscola parents asked the school board for a bullying awareness program. The board felt there was not a “problem of epidemic proportions.” However, they took statements made at the meeting very seriously and were going to take a closer look at the issue.

TCHS FFA members Emily Winn, Jazman Bailey, and Jackie Carter attended the Made for Excellence conference. The two-day conference was a development program to help students set and achieve their goals.

TCHS Stan Wienke was inducted into the Illinois High School Football Coaches Hall of Fame. Wienke coached for 39 years with a career record of 199 wins and 92 losses, 10 championships, and five undefeated seasons.

Feb. 24, 1998

Miss Tuscola contestants gathered at Sutter’s Bed and Breakfast. Those competing for the 1998 title were Melinda Lehmann, Brooke Carie, Jessica Kresin, Katie Hettinger, Cara Ring, Jill Grover, and Lindsey Snider.

TCHS students who were winners at the WYSE Science competition were Carrie Bergeson, Becky Wetzel, Amanda Griffith, Tami Snyder, Stephanie Reinhart, Jonathan Griffith, Matt Schweighart, Tim Jones, and Tim Heyen. They were sponsored by Beth Chamberlain.

Seventh and eighth grade boys were rewarded for their efforts in basketball. Seventh grade award winners were Ryan Bonner, most redbounds; Mike Hackett, Hustle Award; Nick Lough, most free throws. Eight grade award winners were Corey Kleiss, most rebounds; Brett Engelhardt, Hustle Award; Eric Schweighart, most free throws.

Feb. 23, 1988

Superintendent Jack Williams announced his retirement. He was with the Tuscola schools for 27 years. James Voyles was named Superintendent upon Williams’ resignation.

For the first time in regional basketball history, the cheerleaders also competed for a regional trophy. Varsity cheerleaders who competed were Tina Turner, Julie Kohlbecker, Margie Nauta, Terri Bowen, Susanna Ross, and Carrie Purcell.

Seven TCHS students advanced to national competition for their artwork: Jodi Hahn, Lori Driver, Jody Russell, Kit Hanner, Juile Clark, Lori Carroll, and Cliff Magee.

The Warrior boys’ basketball team claimed a victory over the Atwood-Hammond Rajahs, 83-62. They also beat Villa Grove 84-56 in the regionals.

Feb. 23, 1978

Former Tuscola Review Publisher, Bert D. Quackenbush, passed away. He was the Publisher of the Tuscola Review from 1956 until he retired in 1970. He had entered a full partnership with owner Robert Hastings in 1967.

The Southgate subdivision proposal was presented to the planning commission by developers Dennis Dietrich and Elva Yoder. The land south of Route 36 and Liga’s restaurant was proposed to be twin subdivisions called Southgate Estates with 16 lots each and a through street.

Electrical wiring touching water lines was to blame for an extensive house fire at a home owned by Wayne Doud on east Barker Street. Fire Chief Dennis Dietrich said it took an hour to put the fire out, and he believed the house was a total loss.

TCHS students were honored in the 14th Annual Scholastic Art Awards Program. Students, under instructor Les Sluder, were Ray Wirick, Jack Liga, Brian Cleland, Jim Gallagher, Susie Thode, and Emma Rahn.

Tuscola boys’ basketball celebrated a win over Villa Grove, 91-51. Top Scorers for the game were Matt VanSteenhuyse, Mark Oakley, and Gary Campbell.

Feb. 22, 1968

Tom VanVoorhis announced that he would run for his third term as Douglas County Circuit Clerk. VanVoorhis was a lifelong resident of Douglas County and a WWII Veteran.

The Tuscola Youth Center took its official first step by electing officers. The following were elected: Glen Smith, chairman; Judge Harry Pate, vice chairman; Orville Frye, treasurer; Darrell Ford, secretary.

The senior class at TCHS voted to produce a musical play. “My Fair Lady” was chosen for the production.

South Ward basketball team captains Rudy Huber, Keith Dague, Steve Sanderson, and Rand Landess presented Principal Delbert Davis with a gift of appreciation. Davis organized the league and did most of the officiating during the year.

Leave a Comment